Saturday, September 6, 2014

Dia catorce- la ultima

Last day! Went to the beach for a bit, checke out at lunch time then killed some time util our shuttle at 6. Stopped to the sugar loaf to meet the Joao from yesterday to get our forgotten bag. Got it. 

Flew home, now in Miami waiting for the next leg back to sfo. Long day in the airport not able to get an earlier flight. 

The Brasilian people are usually late, kiss hello, and good bye, and hug a lot. They drive likes maniacs and over share their feelings. Kind, hospitable, sweet and generous. I really love them! 

Dia trece


Tour of el Cristo, Santa Teresa neighborhood and the Santa Marta favela. Rio has become much more safe then just 6 years ago when it was awarded the Olympics. Since then less drugs, no guns and more police in the favelas. Our guide Luis said Rudy Guliani came to help work on the plan for a safer Rio. Really cool day. One more sleep in Brasil...


Wednesday, September 3, 2014

Dia doce

Left londrina early, Victor drive us, walked in and was sad to see us go. He's such a good guy. Looking forward to seeing them all again sometime. Arrived in Rio, and got the shuttle, got to hotel and walked a little bit, had a late lunch then a quick nap. Had dessert and walked to the beach, it's so beautiful here, and windy! Going to bed early so we can get up for the all day tour tomorrow. 

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Dia once

Last day at Casa Sant'Anna. Had a breakfast if bread and cheese, then chilled out until lunch with Fernando and andrea and victor. Went home for a little bit and rested, then went for pastel and pao de queijo. Omg so much cheese so little time. 
Now we'll have a BBQ. 
Met Fernando's teacher, Mark and became fb freinds with him. Very nice gringo living in Brasil and teaching English as a native speaker, what a cool job! At one point Fernando said to his friend in English, "don't touch my balls!" He meant don't bust my balls. The three Americans laughed really hard. 
In the last few days Fernando has also said
When they start dancing like monkeys, it's time to go.
Do you like my shit? (Shirt) 
I don't mind the shit. (In refernce to dog ownership)
What the fuck is this? Whatthefuckis that? 
He also pointed his middle finger at me.

Fernando is my favorite( they are all my favorite. 
Victor also saw a pic if the Easter duck race and he said are you fishing for chickens? 

Monday, September 1, 2014

Dia deis

Nice breakfast in the Sant'Anna home, paô de queijo, and coffee. Then around 11:30 went with Fernando to rotary meeting. Was very nice and a cool experience. Then with victor went around Londrina and had another snack and ice cream. We're always eating too much, but it's all so good. Then we drive out of town with Andrea, Fernando, victors, to a German brasilian restaurant, but it wS closed! Was pretty funny. Drive into londrina for Italian food, cheesy creamy pasta. So good but I'm kinda feeling like a fat ass. 
Now to bed! 

Sunday, August 31, 2014

Dia nove

Got up around 10:30 am, thinking breakfast closed at 11. It closed at 10:30 so we missed it, but packed up and left hotel by noon for to get pastries at Brioche. Was so good. Then walked a bit in the rain, killed some time
Then taxi to aeroporto. Saw Otavio in airport, then saw Felipe-hijad when we landed. He called Don Fernando and we all rode home together. F-h was tired from not sleeping at all. So funny. Then we get to the home of Fernando and Andrea and it so lovely. Barbara and Vovo are also here and they are the cutest. Had coffee at 8 pm, pizza at 10. Now trying to go to sleep after a good day. 

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Dia oito

Tried to go to yoga, got to the park but couldn't find the class until too late. Had a nice walk. Then back to hotel, went to get cheese balls, and saw Fernando, so we walked with him to the mall and get some scarfs. Then lunch feijoada with him, vovo, and Barbara. Then to the dog park with some of victors freinds, family, the whole crew. Now to hotel for a rest until we have to be dressed by 9:45. Then the big party. More  on the later 

Later: 4 am just got home from the most extravagant law school graduation. It was
Super fun, I learned a bunch of brasilian dances and had many whiskey cokes. Too much soda, too much fun. When they start dancing like monkeys it's time to go. Met a bunch of crazy monkeys and had lots if fun. Boa noche 


Friday, August 29, 2014

Dia sete

Breakfast then a little more shopping in the afternoon. Then victor said party starts at 21:00 which I interpreted as 7 pm but it's 9. So we were early at 7:30. Fun party and all victors freinds are very sweet, his Vovo is hilarious. Another late night, home around 1:15 am. Boa noite! 

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Dia seis

Breakfast, shopping and a manicure pedicure. Victors graduation at night, was a bit crazy, like very high production quality for a graduation. Lights, video monitors, and paparazzi. Victor have a really nice speech. Then it was over, and we were going to get pizza, took frighin forever I wanted to smash some things and I was realizing, this is probably the longest I've gone with out a proper yoga class and I'm feeling the stress. Need to find a studio manha. Not want, need. 

Dia cinco

Left sp early flight to Curitiba. Arrived, ate pao de quijo and met victor and his freind Guillerme. They took us to te botanical garden then to hotel. Sushi lunch with victor, and a walk around town. Then to see his apt. He's so cute and proud of his city, very excited to see mom. 
Little nap then to Victors school for mass. Totally in portugues, but I could read along with the pamphlet. Took communion, "cuerpo de Cristo" amém
Then with his family and met some freinds if Victor's for Italian dinner around 9:30 pm. Finished at 11:30. Vovo, Victors grandmother is the cutest little gramma you'll ever meet. Vovo is always excited, Barbara would say. They taught her some English words, and it's adorable and hilarious. "I don't cha know" she's mixing Don't cha know? With I don't know. Victor is her oldest grandchild and her favorite. I told vovo that she's my favorite. 

Dia quatro

La guia Rosana, due fantastica, myuy chistosa y sonrisa. Went to la favelas saw estavao casa with all the things on everything. Then saw barbelo, who makes all his art from mechanical parts. Very cool. Then to the stadium soccer, where I bought Jude and Jonah a jersey, then to te faire, where we are pastels and it rained a bit. Then to art galleries and coffee on villa Magdalena. Fun shops and I bought more gifts. Then home for a quick rest, Ana picked us up after work, went to the mall, with all the nice shops, then to delicious Italian dinner. Then gelato the best. 

Monday, August 25, 2014

Dia tres

Very long day with your guide Monica. She was sweet and we had fun, saw the market, are bologna sandwiches, saw the big park, Japanese area of the city, some big houses, Italian tower for a high view if the city and  2 cathedrals. Met Ana at hotel unique, very cool rooftop bar as well. 

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Dia duas


Hoje we went to a classical concerto doer one São Paulo at a train station which was converted to a symphony hall. So fun with margorie, Ana, mi mama y eu. After we are pirahno y cerjesas.  Was so deliciouso. Then  walk to a bar, got in for no cover because margorie says we have 2 americans, and more cervejas. Tambem, deliciouso. Then for dinner at an American type diner and we all want to die. Too much cheese and burgers. Oye. Un otro dia bem. Boa noche 

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Dia un

Arrive sp, so early. Ana and papae picked us up, then home to thier lovely condo where I met mamae y Bruno. Showered, nap and breakfast. Then to lunch fijado meat extravaganza. Then to the bridal shower, where they played weird games and my mom won a little embroidered towel at bingo. Then another little nap, a and pizza dinner at 10:30 pm. I'm dead tired. But am loving São Paulo 

Monday, August 18, 2014

Brasil- Aug23 thru Sept 6

Traveling with my mom to São Paulo, Curitiba, Londrina, and Rio de Janeiro. Visiting friends, exchange students, takin tours, seeing sites. Barely speaking portugues...What did we get ourselves into?